What should have been the 6th edition of Heroes Awards if not for Covid-19 pandemic that didn’t allow it to take place in 2020, but with much enthusiasm, resilience and a great passion, the 5th edition took place recently with so much glamour at the auditorium of the historical Forte Metal Cross, Dixcove, Ghana.

The three day event had awards presentation ceremony, speeches, online presentations, tours and networking sessions.

In her welcome speech, Ms. Christiane Dadson, a tourism expert welcome the guests to the venue and quickly enjoined them to feel at home and take up responsibilities to ensure tourism returns to its normal operations judging by the level of drop in sector’s activities, no thanks to Covid-19 pandemic.

She also enjoined women folks to dedicated themselves to attaining leadership position in their chosen field and concluded by wishing all the recipients and guests all the best.

Other Speakers included Ambassador Nancy Sam, President Women In Tourism who also implored women to take up responsibilities to reposition themselves in the scheme of things especially from tourism perspective which would create the much needed recovery. She however enjoined the gathering to explore Ghana as one of the beautiful destinations in Africa looking at the convergence at Dixcove, Ghana which is one of the numerous Tourist’s delights in Ghana.

In his own speech, Royal Panford, CEO Street of Gold and Convener of the awards expressed his delight at the turn out for the awards and wished the gathering a great journey back to their various locations but not without exploring Dixcove and the entire Ghana which according to him formed part of the reasons for picking Dixcove.

Various other goodwill messages we delivered from, sponsors, partners and other dignitaries at the event.

Personalities present received their crystals awards while others watched online globally and got their awards received in proxy.

Awards recipients included: The star royal recipient- NANA Kribea Asante- One of the female Kings in Ghana, Farida Tahir – MD/CEO Grassroots Microfinance Bank, from Nigeria, Mrs. Eveline Diatta-Amcrombessi-CEO, Edan TV network from Senegal, Mr. Igor Koffi Constantine, Producer Herbal products from Benin Mrs . Huguette Lucile Constance Videohoenou- Zingozah from Benin Republic- Women In Tourism Benin, Miss Deborah Oduro- Founder/ President DUSAF from Ghana. Other recipients are Elizabeth Nwakajila Ayo – Chief Operating Officer Mrembo Safari from Tanzania, Angela Nyaki-Assistant Commissioner-Conservation, Mount Kilimanjaro from Tanzania, Lynkie Lydia Kangethe- CEO Lynkie Events & Fashion House from Ghana, Agbodjogbe H. Thomasia- Community Leadership from Benin Republic.


Also Mr. Curthbert Ncube- The Executive Chairman, African Tourism Board from South Africa, Mr. Ahmed Naamani- CEO Dodi Travel & Tours, Mr. Richmond Kpanor from Ghana, Mrs Akua Amoakowaa Mensah CEO JAY & JAY, from Ghana, Chief Sam Sumana -Former Vice President, Sierra Leone, Mr. Dale Holness- US Mayor, Her Excellency, Dr. Hirut Kassaw- Politician Mr. Akpo Djenotin Opportune, Mr Ekow Simpson Mr. Gebert Janssen- MD Party & Event Architect, Nertherlands

Others are Ambassador Nancy Sam- President Women In MICE from Ghana, Mrs. Adrienne Marie Louise Bai Zekpa- Chef Division, Ecobank Business Services from Benin Republic, Mr. Issac Kwabena Gyadu-General Manager,La Palms Beach Resort from Ghana, Miss Ima Royal Panford – Coordinator,Miss MICE International from Nigeria.

The event which was anchored by Kazeem Balogun CEO Kalo Africa Media-Nigeria and Azeez Ebo of Ladiz Entertainment-Benin Republic had many other invited dignitaries such as NANA Oyizabay and host of others from all over which are too numerous to mention.

A great cultural display by the locals really added colour and unending entertainment to the event.

Later on the guests were offered sumptuous buffet at the pool side of Dixcove arena overlooking the alluring Atlantic Ocean in a great ambience.

By Kazeem Balogun

Kazeem Balogun is the Managing Editor of Kalo Africa News.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *